If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

8.0

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,221.00
Average Mileage:
75,427 miles
Total Complaints:
97 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (59 reports)
  2. replace engine (18 reports)
  3. rebuild engine or check oil frequently (10 reports)
  4. Toyota Canada's head office told me that it is acceptable fo (7 reports)
  5. replaced with heavier oil grade (2 reports)
  6. fixed problem under tsb 0094-11 (1 reports)
2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #77

Nov 052013

Camry SE 2.3L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 183,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Bought 07 Camry SE with 4 cyl engine new in fall of 2006. Car has been dealer serviced/maintained since new. After 90k I decided to start changing oil myself with Mobil 1 oil. Noticed that car was burning oil and mentioned to service advisor on last 3 service appointments. Was told this was 'normal'. Last 2 years progressively got worse that I have to check oil every week. No visible leaks or tailpipe smoke. Last week

wife was driving on freeway and check engine light flashed. Got home and checked oil, it was almost a full quart low when I just topped it off 6 days earlier. Took to Toyota dealer, long story short they quoted me $6390 for engine replacement. I've had 3 Toyota's before this, my daily driver is a 94 truck with over 253k miles and still drives like new. Toyota was aware of this problem as evidenced by TSB(service bulletin) in Aug. 2011 to correct a piston ring defect. Unfortunately this did not progress into a full recall which would have forced Toyota to fix the problem, as such this was kept 'in-house' until the owners started reporting problems. This is my last Toyota and passing the word to friends and family NOT TO BUY TOYOTA's for the way they treat loyal customers with deceit and lies. Please feel free to contact me or include my name in any class action lawsuits regarding this matter, radonay@att.net. reference: T-SB-0094-11 dated Aug 11, 2011 to repair piston assembly which could lead to excessive oil consumption. Thanks.

- , Vallejo, California, USA

problem #76

Sep 032013

Camry LX 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,565 miles

why is toyota cutting their throats? ive bought my last toyota. funny how info flows after cash is paid. this is something they were aware of but neglected to say anything. i work with a large amount of best toyota clientel who with any luck and some persistance will never set foot on their side show lot again. i will enjoy my quest as im sure my efforts will effect their bottom line as it already has affectad mine. why destroy a companys image for a few bucks2l of oil between oil changes is not normal aholes its a problem as am i

- , Wolfville, NS, Canada

problem #75

Oct 102013

Camry LE 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 104,000 miles

I bought my pre-owned 2007 Toyota Camry in April of 2012, due to having a baby. I thought it would be a wise decision and a smart "Family Car". Wrong. Right from the start, I noticed the car was losing a significant amount of oil. I have an extended warranty, (my dad gets upset every time I mention the "extended warranty". Sorry dad), and I have been bringing the car to the dealership I bought if from so they could add oil every time it's low and document it for warranty purposes. I am losing about 3 quarts of oil every 2,000-3,000 miles. I just got word from the dealership that they nor the warranty will cover the cost to fix the excessive oil consumption issue, due to "wear and tear" on the vehicle. I will have to pay for them to take the top part of the engine off JUST TO CHECK to see if there is an issue with the vehicle. I am so disappointed in this, as clearly a normal functioning car does not perform the way my Camry has.

- , Duluth, MN, USA

problem #74

Jun 122011

Camry LXE

  • Manual transmission
  • 90,100 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Like most people I was happy about my car, then I started to hear a knocking sound. The dealer(Toyota) told me oh you just need a little oil, from that day on a little oil to the oil light coming on after a oil change just recently.I have switched to a heavier oil but still have to same problems. When I emailed Toyota they told me to check my manual and take it to the dealer(Toyota), one person at the dealership told me I would have to replace my engine and give my a quote. The oil is going somewhere I don't have a leak and I take my car in for all scheduled services.Toyota need to fix the problem with the car we trusted...I feel I have to double check when I get on the road for trips and when I get to my destination and again on the way home.

- , Albany, GA, USA

problem #73

Oct 242007

Camry LE 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,100 miles

I PURCHASED 2007 CAMRY TOYOTA IN 2007, T OOK A TRIP- IT USED OIL, TOOK IT TO TOYOTA OF CLEVELAND, THEY CALLED CORPORATE TO SEE IF THEY WOULD FIX IT, NO IT' S NORMAL, IT IS IN THE MANUAL, WELL WHO READS A MANUAL BEFORE BUYING CAR?, ALSO WHO WOULD BUY A CAR KNOWING IT WOULD USE OIL.KEPT TAKING IT TO DEALER TO ADD OIL BETWEEN SERVICE. FINALLY 2-10-12TOOK IT FOR SERVICE THEY TOLD ME TO TAKE A LOAN CAR, THEY WERE GONNA SEE IF THEY WOULD FIX THE PROBLEM, NEXT DAY THEY CALLED WANTED ME TO PAY $500.00, AN THEY WOULD FIX IT. AFTER 4YEARS NOT BEING A PROBLEM,T HE WARRANTY RUN OUT, IT IS NOW A PROBLEM I FEEL LIKE THEY SHOULD FIX THE CAR IT HAS HAD THE PROBLEM FRO M THE BEGINNING.I CALLED CORPORATE - WAS TOLD IT IS NORMAL OK NOW THEY ARE FIXING THEM... GUESS IT IS NOT NORMAL ANYMORE.. BEWARE TOYOTA WANNA HAVES

- , Cleveland, TN, USA

problem #72

Jul 122012

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,200 miles

Purchased the Camry in May of 2006 and was happy with initial purchase. I had purchased an 02 Camry in 2002 and had excessive tire wear problems and it was never resolved with Toyota... eventually I sold it in 2005 because of replacing 2 sets of tires. My 2007 Camry uses about 2 quarts of extra oil between oil changes. I always get the oil changed per specs every 5K miles. Initially, this problem was discovered by myself when the check engine light flashed briefly and I checked dip stick and there was hardly any oil detected. Mileage was 62,500. I called the dealership and went right away to have problem checked b/c I was thinking maybe the person did not add adequate oil amount....It was only 2000 miles ago when oil was changed and I always go to Toyota dealer. They decided to change the oil at this time and told me to come back after 1000 miles.. they checked oil level and everything was ok. But when I checked the oil on my own after about 2500 miles, oil was low again and I had to add 2 qts. This is a recurring problem...Not fun and very worrisome. My next purch will not be a Toyota. Thank you for reading my rant.

- , Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #71

Jan 012012

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This was our first Toyota bought new in the fall of 2006. Car is driven by my wife 5 days a week 100 miles a day at mostly highway speeds. Oil and filter changed religiously 5W-20 (non synthetic) Many changes were done at an oil change facility. Some point around 100,000 miles I was shocked to find little or no oil on the dip stick so I started watching it closely. The car no has 149,000 miles on it and burns a bit more then 1 quart every1200 miles.

This just happens to be the amount that Toyota calls a problem and excessive, BUT our car is out of warranty. Amazing two weeks ago I ask the Toyota service manager about it and he said he never has heard of this ..

That is a totally false statement since there is a TS bulletin about this problem! Toyota's engineers made an error with the design of the pistons. The drain return holes that are behind the lower oil control rings are too small and eventually plug up. this prevents the oil from draining back down into the oil pan and instead it gets pushed up into the combustion chamber and burned! What a sad situation for all of us that bought the cars with high user mileage expectations.

I have tried adding some Sea Foam to the oil hoping it would help dissolve some of the crud that is plugging the drain holes but it hasnt helped yet. I have seen pictures of another owner that did his own rebuild and had to drill out the crap in the holes and he also added a couple of extra holes. This isn't a job that most of us can do or is economically sensible. How does a person sell a car that is burning oil to another person?...I know car dealers do it everyday!!

Also the drivers side visor broke and had to be replaced by me. A few months later Toyota issued a recall on it. It took some time but I was able to get reimbursed for the part.

I have a 33 year old BMW motorcycle with over 165,000 miles on it that doesnt burn oil!!

- , Newton Falls, Ohio, USA

problem #70

May 302013

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

2007 CAMRY LE OIL CONSUMPTION PEOPLE WITH THIS PROBLEM MUST CALL TOYOTA WE MUST BE HEARD 1-800-331-4331 GET A CASE NUMBER IF WE ALL DID THIS THERE WOULD BE A RECALL

- , Alexandria, KY, USA

problem #69

Nov 012012

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 80,000 miles

Uses way too much oil consumption... they changed something that was only a few dollars but charged me 50 to do it..NO change..still way too much oil consumption... If you know of a class action law suit please contact angierobrdh@yahoo.com

thank you!!!

- , Roseboro, NC, USA

problem #68

Jun 252013

Camry LS 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

I purchased my 2007 Toyota brand new in the Spring of 2007. I have always performed routine maintenance on my cars, including an oil change every 3000 - 3500 miles. My last oil change on the Camry was February 27, 2013, and the approximate mileage was 107,000. On June 25, 2013, I was driving to work and noticed a loud clicking/banging sound under the hood as I accelerated. The Maintenance Required light had come on and the Oil Light briefly flashed. When I arrived at work, I checked the oil, and to my surprise, no oil was showing on the dipstick. I put three quarts of oil in the Camry and drove it to a Toyota Dealership. They told me I had thrown a rod and estimated repairs in the ballpark of $5,000. I called an independent mechanic and am still awaiting his estimate. I have owned Nissans, Mazdas, Mitsubishis, Chevrolets, and Fords over a period of 30 years and never had any of them consume oil at that rapid of a rate! I bought the Toyota on the advice of my mechanic, but I do not know whether I will ever purchase another one!

- , Milford, PA, USA

problem #67

Mar 222012

Camry LE 2.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 93,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vehicle is now consuming about 1 quart of oil per 600 miles. Toyota and the dealership will not take responsibility for a known engine defect in their 2007 4 cylinder Camry's. I guess it will eventually take a class action lawsuit similar to the oil sludge problem they experienced with the Corolla.

- , Beverly Hills, FL, USA

problem #66

Apr 012012

Camry SE 4.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 75,000 miles

I have a 2007 toyota camry. I bought new loved the car. I do my own oil changes .The last two times of changing oil there was about two quarts of oil in the catch pan. I can not believe a toyota is using oil. So I went dealer . They told to return for the next oil change to check oil level. I was told the thousands of dollars it would cost to fix problem. They are not going to pay. I have 79000 miles.

- , Princeton, WV, USA

problem #65

Sep 282012

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,274 miles

I have a 2007 Camry, that has a oil consumption problem. Back in Sept 2012, I was having my oil changed and the mechanic told me that I was almost 3 quarts low, and after inspection of the car, he did not find any leaks. My car at this point had 70, 274 miles on it. The mechanic suggested that I take it back to the dealership, to see what the problem was. I took the car back to Toyota and they told me in order to see what the problem was they had to fill the oil and to (lock it down) and to bring it back in 1200 miles. I brought the car back in late November, early December 2012 and the oil was down 1.8 quarts . There is a Technical Service Bulletin on this issue, T-SB-0094-11. 2AZ-FE Engine Oil Consumption issue. Tiyota told me this was an issue, but my engine was out of warranty.. They told me that they would split the total repair cost with me 50/50. That the most I would pay is $2000. This is for a known issue. I didn't know what to do, but they told me that this repair would be under warranty for 12 months and if I had any issues then they would fix it. They would stand by the repair and were certain this would fix the oil problem. So I had the car fixed and picked it up Dec. 21, 2012. It ended up costing me $1424.00, and I was told that I could go back to having my oil changed every 5000 miles. I was alittle nervous about that so after 1000 miles I took it back and was told that they have to top it off, I said how much was it topped off and she couldn't tell me, but said my car was fine. So after 4000 miles, I decided to look myself to make sure the oil was ok, when I checked it, the car was 2 quarts down. I was very upset so I went back to Toyota that day, and they filled up the car with oil and (locked it down) again. I told them I wanted the car fixed as it has a 12 month warranty. They told me it was out of their hands and I have to come back in 1200 miles again so they could check it. Now after 1200 miles it's already down .5 quart, so I can see now that after 4000 miles it would be back down 2 quarts again. They told me they would call Toyota and get back to me, that was yesterday, June 12, 2013. I was told by two people there including the supervisor, that Toyota will not be doing anything else to help me out. They told me it was normal now, with the new cars these days, they burn more oil then the old cars do, I have never heard of a car burning 2 quarts of oil in 4000 miles to be normal. They gave me the direct line for Toyota and i'm going to call them, but last time I tryed to talk to them, they didn't want anything to do with it. Now what can I do???

- , Lynn, MA, USA

problem #64

Mar 252011

Camry SE 4cly

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

i got the car used in 2011 my wife was going on a100 mile trip so i check the oil and nothing was on dip stick.added three qts of oil had check nothing was leaking.after reading all problems of 2007 oil burning i was really tic off.because i have had 4 camrys all with over 250.000 miles never this problem or any other problems with camrys.3 of my family members bought camrys because i had such good success with them.even though i was pissed with this 07 camry i was out to find a way to fix oil problem.after trying every oil i could think of.i went to lucas oil web site and seen the had oil for regular cars.lucas is known for race car product.so i thought about if its good for race cars,maybe it could help with the 2007 oil burning problems.and to this day its working i put on 1700 miles since i use lucas and only had to put less than half quart of oil.i also used lucas oil stabalizer in place of 1 qt of oil

- , Evanston, IL, USA

problem #63

Mar 012007

Camry LE 2.4L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,971 miles

I bought my car brand new in December of 2006. By about March or April it became clear that it was using way too much oil. It wasn't leaking and I couldn't smell it being burned. I took it to the dealer where, in casual conversation with a mechanic, he stated he thought something was odd about the usage. Once they had looked at it and completed their testing, I was told it was a normal usage thing. I didn't really accept that statement, but put up with it anyway.

From that point in 2007 to the fall of 2012 I would be putting in a bottle of oil approximately every week. Seem like an excessive amount? I should say that this vehicle is a taxi cab and I put on far more kilometers than most people would. Since September of 2012 however, I am now putting in about 10 bottles per month. Its clear to me that the engine will go before the year 2013 is done.

The best answer to this problem lies in the comment below about the oil compression rings. Its what my mechanic has theorized is causing the issue. When the car finally goes, I will ask him to do a quick postmortem on engine to check. Not knowing a lot about cars, I can take an uneducated guess that Toyota is very much aware of the ring problem and knows it would be debilitating in terms of cost to replace all of those engines. Better to correct the problem in the future models and turn a blind eye to the mess than to address it head on.

The good news folks, is that nearly everything else on the car worked great. At this writing, (Feb 2013) I am over 470,000km. Most of you will not rack up those kinds of km in the lifespan of the car, so if you can stomach putting some oil in on a regular basis then the car will serve you well.

- , Kitchener, Ontario, canada

problem #62

Feb 022013

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles

Out of the blue the car started to consume oil like MAD (49,000 miles)! Brought it in for an oil consumption test and problem was confirmed. Told me repairs under TSB-0094-11, August 11, 2011 (they've known about this problem for a long time) were not under warranty and we would have to pay for the tear down parts & labor. After reviewing the "oil consumption problem" on THIS website

we went back to Toyota and made the case that they were engaged in unfair and deceptive business practices by withholding information about defective components. The dealership requested a NO COST repair from Toyota and it was granted. I estimate the cost to repair was around $7000. They also provided a loaner car for the three week period it took to make the repairs. In the end, no complaints and Toyota acted like a responsible company and I will clearly stay a customer. Good luck

- , Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #61

Feb 222012

Camry CE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

This car has a little over 60K and uses 3-4 quarts of oil between oil changes!

Toyota of Santa Monica keeps saying oil consumption is normal

I have extended warranty but they refuse to do anything

what do I do

- , Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #60

Jan 232013

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,778 miles

Had the first California smog test on my 07 Camry in January of this year. The results of the test really surprised me because it came close to failing. Maximum hydrocarbon allowance is 52 and it measured 43. Maximum nitrous oxide allowance is 425 and it measured 260. My 89 Toyota pickup with 356,000 miles has tested less than 10 consistently in both categories. The excellent performance of the truck was the main reason for buying the Camry but now I think I have bought my last Toyota. On the last oil change I used 10W30 oil instead of 5W20 that is recommended by the manufacturer. Oil consumption seems to be reduced but I have not put 5000 miles on the oil yet. With the 5W20 oil it was using about 2 quarts within 5000 miles. I don't know if the heavier oil will be a permanent fix but in two years when I am required to get another smog test I will find out. The oil consumption does not bother me too much because it doesn't leak or smoke but if I fail a smog test then I will be unable to renew the registration until the problem is fixed.

- , Camarillo, California, USA

problem #59

Jun 012013

Camry LE

  • Manual transmission
  • 50,000 miles

i start to hear noise for possible water pump ,and oil go low so quik ,i been told to check with toyota in a month to check my oil level and if it low than it cost a lot of many to fix ,that what i been told at dealler.

- , Ramsey, MN, USA

problem #58

Dec 152012

Camry LE 4 cylider

  • Automatic transmission
  • 106,000 miles

I had my oil changed in my 2007 Toyota Camry LE and a couple thousand miles into the next oil change, my add oil light come on. My husband checked my oil level and I was 3 quarts low. I was astonished and naturally concerned, but thought perhaps when it had been changed all the oil may not have been added back to the engine. Recently it was time for my oil change at 5,000 miles and when the mechanic changed my oil, he informed me my engine was 2.5 quarts low for oil. My total mileage is at 110,000 for this 2007 model. I was doing research and found this complaint sight and was reading how many other Toyota owners were experiencing like issues. All we k now to do now is to keep a close eye on the oil level frequently and perhaps change the oil at 3,000 miles. It is not under any type of warranty, so this problem is "my baby." It has definitely lessened my faith in Toyota products.

- , Loyall, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?