If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

8.0

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,213.00
Average Mileage:
78,351 miles
Total Complaints:
124 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (71 reports)
  2. replace engine (22 reports)
  3. rebuild engine or check oil frequently (20 reports)
  4. Toyota Canada's head office told me that it is acceptable fo (8 reports)
  5. replaced with heavier oil grade (2 reports)
  6. fixed problem under tsb 0094-11 (1 reports)
2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #104

Jun 092014

Camry LE 2az-Fe

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,592 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought a used 2007 Toyota Camry LE in Feb 2009 with only 2,000 miles on it. The car has performed well until now. Four months ago, I noticed a faint knocking noise from the engine. I thought the problem was some sort of "piston slap" I recently discovered that the car has been using about one quart of oil for each 1,000 miles driven. The service manager at Rosner Toyota in Fredericksburg,VA told me that the excessive oil consumption problem results from very small oil return holes on the piston rings. The oil remains in the combustion chamber and is burned. He said that the pistons and piston rings would have to be replaced at a cost approximately $2,000. Toyota did not issue a recall this vehicle; only a technical service bulletin, TSB 0094-11 on August 11, 2011. I have elected to replace the oil as needed, and trade the car in for something other than a Toyota in about 2 years.

Patrick H.

Stafford,VA

- , Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #103

Jul 222012

Camry LE 2.4L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,923 miles

I was on a summer trip and before making my way back home, I decided to check the fluid levels of my car, and noticed that the oil level was below the minimum mark on the dipstick, so I added a quart of oil before making the trip back, and booked an appointment at my Toyota dealership, with whom I deal exclusively for service. At this point, I was still under warranty, so they changed the oil and told me to come back at the regular service interval, which is 8000 kms. here in Canada. After I had driven the 8000 kms. and was ready for the next oil change, the oil level was again below the minimum mark on the dipstick. Concerned, I mentioned it to the service advisor, who opened up a file for my car, and ran a compression test on the engine. The compression test turned out fine, so they mentioned that I should put in 5W30 oil, and assured me that nothing wrong would happen to the engine, even though I expressed concern that this was going against Toyota's recommendations. They sent in the report to Toyota headquarters to see if they could do a warranty repair, and Toyota refused, mentioning that the "oil consumption issue falls within Toyota's tolerances". They added that they would be monitoring the oil levels closely every time I'd bring my car in for service anyway. A year or so went by after this point, with the car consistently consuming a litre (or quart) of oil between oil changes. I found this to be very unusual, since my previous 4 Toyotas never really consumed any significant amount of oil, but trusted my service advisor, and kept checking the oil levels fairly regularly (every 1000 kms. or so).

Fast forward to January 2014--I checked my oil after 4000 kms, and noticed that it consumed a full litre of oil! In other words, instead of consuming a litre of oil every 8000 kms., it now consumed a litre in 4000 kms.! I mentioned it to my service advisor, who made a note of it in the file, changed the oil, and told me to keep monitoring it. It's now July 2014, and I'm at the halfway mark to the 8000 km. oil change, and have consumed a full litre of oil, so I called my dealership to see what would happen, since I am now outside the warranty period. Their response? To put 10W30 oil in it (which I refuse to do) and then think about an engine rebuild, for which I would need to pay.

I don't understand how I would have to pay for a repair that should've been done 2 years ago, but which Toyota refuses to acknowledge. I have now lost almost all faith in Toyota, a company that I once thought equated with reliability and years of worry-free ownership. Boy was I wrong. I will not support a company that does not stand behind its products, and believes that it can solve its problems by denying their existence. Until they do what's right, I cannot, in good faith, continue to support this company, and as it stands, this will be my last Toyota. I am also spreading the word to everyone willing to listen so that nobody else falls into this trap.

- , Ottawa, Canada, canada

problem #102

Dec 122008

Camry LE 2.4li4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,450 miles

ADD OIL REGULARLY. KEEP ONE QUART OF OIL READY IN THE TRUNK. VERY DISAPPOINTED.

- , Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #101

Mar 062014

Camry LX 2az-Fe

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,567 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We bought our 2007 Camry in late 2006. Since the day we bought it we started having problems. We even bought a secondary warranty through Lockheed Credit Union. Our vehicle has had the struts replaced, our axles replaced and 2 recalls in less than 60,000 miles.

I recently discovered while driving my car that something was not sounding right. When we took it in for check up, the engine was almost bone dry of oil. My Mechanic suggested synthetic oil and we did an oil change and I kept an eye on it. We discovered that in about 1000 miles of driving my car is burning 1 qt of oil. I know a little bit about cars, and knew that this is not normal. I spoke to Keyes Toyota in Van Nuys and they confirmed that they had a T-SB (0094-11) regarding Engine Oil Consumption on my model year in August 11, 2011. The dealer told me that my warranty had expired and there is nothing they can do.

What really pissed me off, is that both my warranty's would have covered it if they had advised me back in 2011. I have since joined the Class action law suit and would like nothing more than to stick it to Toyota. We have purchased 3 new Toyota's since 2000. I am so disappointed with their customer service. I just want to get it fixed so I can sell it and get a Honda Accord.

- , North Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #100

May 162014

Camry LE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,000 miles

I am on original owner of this car since June 2006 and has been regularly changing oil at the recommended intervals. I started noticing when the car had about 60k miles that i have been noticing that by the time i get to the oil change cycle the car is running out of oil. This has not happened in any of the other cars that I have owned and this is my 4th Toyota, so was very surprised and initially did not believe the oil change shop. However the situation has gradually worsened and now after about 2500 miles the oil sign comes on. So I took it to a mechanic to get this reviewed and after examination this mechanic came to the conclusion that this is an engine problem and it would cost upto $4k to fix it, so you are better off topping the oil frequently. So i went over the internet to research further and as I have discovered there are already numerous complaints exactly similar to mine. So I wanted to add to the list hoping we can get toyota to fix it.

- , Great Falls, VA, USA

problem #99

Jan 232012

Camry SE 2.0L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

click to see larger images

excessive oil consumption

I purchased a new 2007 Toyota Camry in Sept 2006. I got regular oil changes at Toyota and was never told how much oil they dumped so I don't know exactly when it started burning oil but I checked it last year and it had no oil in it. I told Toyota and they checked it and told me I needed a new engine. I told them I was still under my extended warranty so they started an oil consumption test and concluded that I was burning about a quart every 1000 miles and they said that was normal.

I check it often and keep oil in it but I'm worried that it will eventually destroy my engine. I'm very upset because my husband has a Toyota Tacoma with 200000 miles on it and it burns no oil. I am almost 50 and this is my first new car so I wanted to keep it for a long time. Now I can't even sell it with the oil consumption problem. I'm very disappointed in Toyota and want them to give me a new engine like they originally said it needed.

- , Muncie, IN, USA

problem #98

Apr 242014

Camry SE

  • Manual transmission
  • 117,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We bought our 2007 Toyota Camry used in 2010. My wife and I share the vehicle, so it does get a fair amount of use (obvious from mileage). We get the oil changed when we are supposed to and have had the brakes fixed and new tires put on the car and expected at least another 3-4 years of use.

We started hearing a strange noise and the oil light kept coming on, even though we have 1000 miles until our next scheduled oil change. We took it to the Alexandria VA Toyota and they told us that it might be a 4000$ repair. That this issue is common in Camry's - unacceptable.

We are going to fill out the class action law suit form and also complain to Toyota's customer service. If enough of us do that, hopefully we can make something happen and get a recall on our vehicles.

Class action law suit info: http://www.chimicles.com/toyota-scion-engine-oil-consumption-class-action-lawsuit

Toyota Customer Care: 1 (800) 331-4331

- , Laurel, MD, USA

problem #97

Apr 122014

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,389 miles

Disappointed to the MAX!!! I had my 2007 Camry, had several recalls, got them fixed. I make sure I get services about every 3-5,000 miles. I take care of my car.

And all of a sudden on Saturday, doing errands, my car goes crazy, gauges moving in all crazy directions, the temperature and RMP and Mile gauge has a mind of it own. OMG, freaked me out, pulled over and stopped the car. I curiously checked the oil, and guess what, NO OIL! The ABS & Brake lights are on and no indication of oil!!! I had them put 1 quart of oil and towed it home. The next day I made an appointment at the EL Monte Longo Toyota. Towed the car and paid $115.00 for a diagnostic. Results, an ABS System Actuator with Computer needs to be replaced! Explanation, it just failed! REALLY!

So, my question, does this normally happen to Camry's and he replied no, just seen a few. Really Toyota? I did a search on line and, OMG, THIS IS A MAJOR PROBLEM to this make/model & year! So, my other questions, what does the excessive oil usage have to do with the ABS? Nothing I was told. So basically I'm on my own to fix a problem that I believe is a manufacture problem.... Now a freaking $2300.00 dollar repair and no extended warranty on my car!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I feel I spent so much money on a car to last YEARS and not a part just failed because!!!!! NOT FAIR!!

- , Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #96

Sep 012013

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles

Engine light came on Fall 2013. Took it to the dealership, they said the fix would be expensive, to change the oil every 3,000 miles instead of the 5,000 recommended. Now the oil light is coming on after 2,000 oil change.

- , Hickory Hills, IL, USA

problem #95

Sep 252013

Camry XLE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,288 miles

I purchased this vehicle new in February 2007. I also purchased a platinum warranty through Toyota. I starting noticing the oil consumption Sept. 2013. By January 2014, it had become significantly more noticeable. An oil consumption test was performed by the dealer. They found .76 quarts of oil were used in 1100 miles. The warranty company and Toyota have declared that this is within acceptable limits and have declined the opportunity to repair or replace my vehicle. The oil in my vehicle also becomes very dirty between oil changes. I am concerned that this issue will eventually ruin the engine or cost me major repairs.

- , Bella Vista, AR, USA

problem #94

Nov 052012

Camry LX V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 135,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased my Toyota Camry new in 2007 thinking I would have a reliable sedan for 15 years or a minimum 0f 250,000 miles. In 2012 at under 130000 miles it started using oil. Now it is ridiculous, using almost 2 quarts every 1200 miles. The dealership did an excessive consumption test to tell me what I already knew. My Camry had the same problem that was identified in the 2002 class action lawsuit on overconsumption. It is caused by a faulty engine design, and yet Toyota says its out of warranty and they can do nothing unless there is enough complaints to cause a recall.

With no other recourse, and facing an engine repair bill of up to $6000, I want to be a part of joining others who are experiencing the same crap from Toyota and complain so that we can get a recall issued.

- , Elkhart, IN, USA

problem #93

Dec 142012

Camry LE 2.4L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles

Bought the car in July 2007 and was happy with it until I've noticed that the car is consuming a lot of oil in between the 3000 miles changes. When I said a lot, I mean I have to add 1 quart of oil every 1000 miles or so. There is no visible leaks or any smoke coming out of the tail pipe. When mentioned this to my regular mechanic, he checked the internet and sure enough there was tons of complaints about the same problem. I will be contacting Toyota Corporate and see if they would be willing to fix it.

- , Houston, TX, USA

problem #92

Jul 012012

Camry LE 2.2L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

'07 Toyota Camry consumes 1 1/2 qts. Of oil every 5,000 miles. Andrew Toyota Scion, 1620 W. Silver Spring Dr., Glendale, WI, insists this is normal. William M. Willett, service advisor at Andrew, offers to investigate problem for $1,500.00 with any additional problems found to be repaired at additional cost.

- , Whitefish Bay, WI, USA

problem #91

Jan 122012

Camry XLE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,116 miles

Car was towed from my home to Team CoachWorks, Inc. because when I checked the oil after a signal was intermittently alerting me that something was wrong. I checked the oil level and there was no oil on the oil dip stick. I have the receipt

I have to check the oil level every 500 miles to make sure I do not run out.

- , Moneta, VA, USA

problem #90

Nov 182013

Camry CE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

After 2500 miles after oil change (full synthetic), adding 1 1/4 quarts to top it off isn't really good.

- , Pageland, SC, USA

problem #89

Feb 012012

Camry LE 2.5L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

Noticed the problem about year ago since I started to change oil myself. Have taken good care of the car, used Mobil 1 synthetic all along. Toyota dealer gave free oil changes for the first 18 months - now it is making sense why this generosity. After I stopped going to Toyota, I had the oil changed by one of the fast oil change joints.

- , Syosset, New York, USA

problem #88

Mar 012012

Camry LX V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

The car run fine for the first 50 to 60k without any issue, but one day the engine light pop up and then from that day on we have to pull oil into the engine. it is not one time, but consistently we have to pull one quart of oil for a couple of weeks. in the morning, the smoke come out a lot. it is like a disease engine. We took the car to the dealer and they said it is normal for this model to consumpt oil. can you believe it? I want to tell everyone that read your manual and ask lot of questions before you decide to buy the car because they will not fix it for you and refer you to the manual. Toyota dealer said that they desire this model to consump oil and I didn't read the manual before purchasing the car, so they are not responsible for it. they said it is normal! I ask them if I go any where far, I have to bring oil and they said yes that is normal. There are something wrong with the model because they use a certain material to make the engine and it is interact with the oil after a certain mileage. The material starts to break up and react with the oil, when it reach to a certain temperature, the oil is burn and become crystalize. if you open up the engine, you will see the black crystal is every where. There is no way anyone can fix it, but replace the engine! The car comsumpt gas like crazy, not just oil. it is a total lemon and Toyota is hiding the fact. What are waiting for? If you call them, they will say, it is a desire issue. they don't admit the material they used is bad! Don't buy Toyota product any more.

Lorine

- , Westminster, CA, USA

problem #87

Aug 102010

Camry LE 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 77,800 miles

I put aleast a quart of oil in a week. This has been a problem . I spend 25-30 a month on oil. not fair. They should fix it

- , Port Saint Lucie, FL, USA

problem #86

Feb 012014

Camry XLE 2.4L V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 132,000 miles

I bought my Camry a few months ago with 129,000 miles. I noticed before my first oil change that the dipstick had barely any on the tip remaining. I took it to the mechanic, said that the engine is eating the oil. Told me to keep checking the oil every 1000 miles and keep topping it off. Fix was to chance the engine. Really annoying. I saw the bulletin from 2011. Doesn't mean that it's okay.

- , Houston, TX, USA

problem #85

Feb 092014

Camry XLE 2.4L. V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 63,500 miles

Was driving yesterday (2/9/2014) and had to hit brakes hard and buzzer went off saying engine oil pressure low. When I checked the oil (3hours letting it sit in the driveway) there was barely any oil on the dipstick. I had to put 2 quarts of oil in the car (only use full synthetic oil). Holy cow! I'm the original owner and have taken VERY good care of the car. Always changed oil before 5,000 miles (synthetic oil states car go 5,000 miles in between changes). I have been reading these complaints and MANY others on other websites about these similar complaints on 2007 Camrys. I found a website with class action suit. I went and filled out info.

Please do the same!

http://www.chimicles.com/toyota-engine-oil-consumption-class-action-investigation

NOTHING will get done unless we follow-up and become a "bother" to Toyota

Good luck everyone and please forward to our fellow2007 Camry owners.

- , Yorktown Heights, NY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?