If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

CarComplaints.com Notes: An increasing number of Toyotas are experiencing excessive oil consumption and the 2007 Camry seems to be leading the charge.

Owners are reporting that their engines are deprived of oil halfway through their maintenance schedules and in some cases the damage is so bad that entirely new engines need to be installed, paid out of pocket. The issue may be a result of defective piston rings and is the possible target of a class-action lawsuit.

Toyota has issued a TSB for this problem, but maintains their stance that vehicles equipped with a 2AZ-FE engine are burning through a “normal” amount of oil.

7.9

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$2,012.00
Average Mileage:
81,580 miles
Total Complaints:
140 complaints

Most Common Solutions:

  1. not sure (81 reports)
  2. rebuild engine or check oil frequently (25 reports)
  3. replace engine (22 reports)
  4. Toyota Canada's head office told me that it is acceptable fo (8 reports)
  5. replaced with heavier oil grade (2 reports)
  6. fixed problem under tsb 0094-11 (1 reports)
2007 Toyota Camry engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 2 of 7)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #120

Oct 062014

Camry LE I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 111,847 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Same old excessive oil burning problem but I just want to file a second complaint to make my point across because changing oil (or adding 3 or 4 L of oil) 3 months after the oil change is not "normal" considering the manual states 6 months interval. I'm always driving on highway.

- , Brampton, Ontario, canada

problem #119

Jul 012014

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 92,000 miles

At around 92000 miles our 2007 Toyota Camry oil light started to flash on and off. I checked the oil and it was about 3 quarts low. I took it to the local Toyota dealer and they said we needed to change the PCV valve, change the oil and start an oil consumption test and I needed to bring it back in 1200 miles. In 1200 miles the oil level was Ok. In 1700 miles it had used 1/2 quart of oil. I have told the dealer I am aware of the Toyota oil consumption problem and I want it fixed. I bought the car new and I have done all of the Toyota recommend services and I don't expect it to be using oil. I am a Toyota user because I believe in the product. This time they have tried to cover this problem up so the owners do not know about it.

- , Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #118

Sep 232014

Camry XLE 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 81,000 miles

On September 23rd, 2014 my "oil pressure light "came on, and then again on 09-26-14. I always regularly serviced my car at the Toyota dealer. At first I said "OK it's time for an oil change", but with the miles that I used so far, it was not ready to be scheduled for an oil change yet. I immediately knew that there was a problem with my car. I did some research and learned that I was not the only one having this problem. I don't have a couple of thousands to pay for the repair; especially since this is not my fault.

- , Alexandria, VA, USA

problem #117

Jun 012013

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Our 2007 Camry LE (4 cy engine) began burning oil in about June of 2013 with about 110,000 miles on it. The local Toyota dealers have been the only ones to perform our oil changes, of which, each was performed in a timely fashion. It's beyond understanding and logic that a Toyota product, when well maintained, would begin burning oil. The reason we bought Toyota products was because of their quantity and reliability and their durability. Now in the market before I wanted to be for a new car. Don't thing I'll get another Toyota if this is their new standard of quality.

- , Lakeland, Tennessee, USA

problem #116

May 012014

Camry LE V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

My husband looked up and discovered the problem from the web search. We than told Hudson Toyota in Jersey City, NJ whom never notified us to this problem, thus they preformed a oil/mileage check and determined that yes, there is a problem. But have not told me if they will fix it. The only thing they said is that there was a service bulletin but I never received this via mail or was notified when my vehicle was ever serviced. Which is very disturbing and still till this day I haven't received any word on whether they will fix this problem.

- , Hasbrouck Heights, NJ, USA

problem #115

Aug 012014

Camry 4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 140,396 miles

My 2007 Camry showed my oil lamp on and off for two weeks. I just had my oil changed approx. 2500 miles ago. I always change it every 4000 miles. I went to have my oil changed/checked anyhow and had them check how much oil they drained. They said about 2 quarts. OMG how can that be. My car is not leaking and not burning oil and I was informed that 2007 Camry's have an "Oil Consumption" issue. Not good. My last car was a Camry also and this did not happen. I will be looking to get rid of this car and go with a Hyundai or Ford or Honda or anyone else now that this occurred.

So not happy with Toyota:(

- , Fairfield, Ohio, USA

problem #114

Aug 112014

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,357 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My car began to release smoke from the tail pipe and once I took it in I was told that I needed a new engine. I don't understand how a car with 68,000 miles can need a new engine. I did find it odd that the light that warns to change the oil would turn on more frequently than needed.

I maintain my car very responsibly and I am 8,000 miles over the warranty period. I strongly feel that the engine was defective which is why it was burning oil much faster than it should have. Now I have to replace the engine and pay for it myself. I talked to a Toyota representative and she said that there was nothing that could be done to help pay for that. A consumer should not have to pay for the damage caused by a defective product!!!

We need a class action lawsuit for this problem because I am aware that many other people are experiencing similar problems.

- , Alhambra, CA, USA

problem #113

Aug 252014

Camry LE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 118,000 miles

With the 2007 Toyota Camry, I am the original owner and have no complaints up to this point. Each recall or issue under warranty was handled as expected. When I was told that my car was down 2 quarts at an oil change, I was shocked as I had not seen the car leaving oil marks. The car has not been leaking oil, burning oil rather. I have had to check the oil weekly for the last several months and have had to add at least a quart a week. The car is "puffing" white smoke when turned on and while driving. When I took the car to the Toyota dealer, I was told I need an engine rebuild, new pistons, rings, etc and the cost would be $2850. After a total of 3 mechanical opinions, I was told that this may or may not fix the problem. I was guaranteed a one year/12000 mile warranty from the dealer and that this may happen again or other parts of the engine not fixed may fail. I am concerned that Toyota is supposedly America's most reliable car brand and that the engine has failed at this few miles. After reviewing and research, I see that many other of the same complaints are happening to Toyota owners. Please Help!

- , Lansing, MI, USA

problem #112

Jan 062011

Camry ES

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles

I bought this car in 2007 brand new. I would take it to service every 5,000 miles for the oil change and would have the minor inspection every once in a while. Well my dad will check it for me and he will mention that there was a problem with car consuming oil and that it was not normal for a new car to do that. I told that he was wrong because I would take it to the dealer to get an oil change and that they never mentioned anything about that so I ignored my father but still I kept that in my mind. So I would check it myself every once in a while when I would go on road trips and yes, he was right, the car was low on oil.

I did mentioned it to the dealer and they told me that there was no leak back a couple of years ago. Now my car has 139,000 miles and took it for service this weekend and now they are telling me that there's an oil leak coming from the engine that it will cost me around $1,300 or more to fix or I can just keep an eye on it and just put oil when needed.

I did some research and came to this site and saw the reviews. I'm not alone, I had to put in my complaint as well.

- , Los Angeles, California, USA

problem #111

Mar 092014

Camry LE

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles

THE CAR OIL CHANGED WAS EVERY THREE THOUSAND MILES. THE CAR WAS WELL KEPT BY ONE OWNER. THE CAR WAS BROUGHT INTO THE TOTOYA DEALER FOR AN OIL CHANGE IN MARCH, SINCE THEN I DROVE TWO THOUSAND MILES AND THE OIL INDICATED THAT IT WAS LOW. I NEED TO PUT IN EXTRA OIL FROM HOME. I TOOK THE CAR INTO THE MECHANIC AND THEY SAID THIS IS A VERY COMMON PROBLEM, ACCORDING TO MANY TOYOTA CAMRY OWNERS COMPLAINTS. IN ORDER TO RESOLVED THIS MATTER, THE ENGINE NEEDS TO BE REDESIGNED. THIS WILL COST UP TO $1800.

I AM CONTACTING THE TOYOTA WITH MY COMPLAINT AND REACHING OUT TO EVERYONE THAT OWN A TOYOTA CAMRY 2007 TO SPEAK UP!

- , Cathedral City, CA, USA

problem #110

Dec 012013

Camry LE 2.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 95,570 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

It is a pain to know that every time I go to the mechanic to change oil and he says to me that it could damage the engine.

- , Lake Worth, FL, USA

problem #109

Feb 022014

Camry CE 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,889 miles

We bought our 2007 Camry brand new and have always had it serviced at the local Toyota dealership. The oil was changed religiously every 5000 miles (0-20W or 5W-20 recommended on oil cap). At our last change I noted after the fact that the dealership used 5-30W oil; that was at 74889 miles. This car is primarily driven by my wife, & whenever she takes a trip I always check oil, tire pressure, washer fluid, battery, & other fluid levels.

About a week ago she told me that a dash light symbol came on when she applied the brakes, but she wasn't sure what it was. When I checked, I saw it was the oil lamp, & the car was at 78,920 miles, roughly 1000 miles from a checkup. When I checked the oil gauge it was completely dry! I was shocked, because we always park the car in the same spot in the garage & there are absolutely no oil stains. Moreover, we had not seen any exhaust emission to indicate the car was burning oil. I had some 5W-oil in the garage, so I put in about a liter, waited until it settled, & measured again. The Toyota dipstick is a poor one to read, but I could just discern a drop of very clean oil on the tip.

I decided to take it to a trusted mechanic near where I live. They drained the oil & found only the clean oil I had added, so they added four more quarts to fill it up. I wrote a letter to my dealer here & sent a copy to Toyota headquarters in Torrance, CA. The dealership called back & left a message when I was not home. Then the next day I got a call from Toyota headquarters. They were very calm & casual, & asked what I expected as a response. They even assigned me a case no.: 1402122594. I told them I needed to contact the dealership first to get their reaction, & HQ thanked me for the letter & suggested that was the way to go.

So earlier today I got a second call from the service supervisor at the dealer. He essentially denied that it was possible there was no oil in the car, & suggested that there must have been a residual amount in the filter. We had quite a discussion, & during it he stated that when cars accumulated this kind of mileage it was normal for them to burn more oil. He also stated that the car could burn up to three quarts (out of a 4.5 qt. capacity) before the oil lamp came on, & it would not be harmful to the car. I explained that I had owned a number of Toyotas previously & had never experienced this with them or any other vehicle, some of which I had driven 140,000 miles or more. He further denied that any damage had been done to the engine as a result.

Then, amazingly, he referred me to this site & told me how to access it on Google. When I did, I of course discovered dozens of Camry owners who have experienced the exact same problems in very similar fashion. In the handbook, although it does give a CYA statement about cars being expected to burn a quart of oil every 1000 miles, any owner will tell you that is not the case with their vehicle (I am speaking, of course, of owners not having this kind of problem). Moreover, in the handbook it states the car is more likely to burn oil when new than it does later on, "since its piston, piston rings & cylinder walls have not become conditioned." This of course is a direct contradiction to his explanation.

I am going back to check again with my trusted mechanic tomorrow to confirm that the only oil they drained was the new oil I had added before bringing the car to them. There is no question in my mind that none of the oil drained was dark or discolored in any way. Now, of course, I have discovered through this site that dozens of others are experiencing similar problems with their 2007 Camrys. and this is probably only a small fraction of the owners experiencing such problems but not reporting them.

Especially given all the recalls in recent years, it's obvious that Toyota's reputation is badly tarnished, & deservedly so. The stats this site provided are almost exactly in line with when my problems showed up, mileage-wise, & potential damage & repairs will likely be prohibitive. In a more general sense, the collective responses here from buyers clearly indicate that warranties are not a good investment. You are better off putting the money in a repair account & using it when your car actually does experience a problem, the more expensive ones invariably coming after the warranty expires.

Like many others have noted, my moral compass also makes it difficult for me to want to pass on such a car to someone else, rendering it far less valuable as an asset for buying a new vehicle. I found the responses of both the dealership & HQ very generic & disappointing, & as I educate myself to others' collective experience it is quite apparent they are aware of the magnitude of this problem & rather cavalier in the way they have addressed/minimized the complaints.

As an owner of multiple Toyotas in past, I have watched their quality steadily erode. Years ago, when there were defects, they were always quick to respond & eliminate them. Now they really seem indifferent. Before I could say it, my wife (who is Oriental) said she did not want to buy a Toyota any more. Especially in this day & age of increased expectations for longevity & performance in automobiles as compared to a couple decades ago, Toyota really appears to be headed in the opposite direction.

Bill A Homosassa, FL

- , Homosassa, FL, USA

problem #108

Jun 102014

Camry

  • Manual transmission
  • 96,000 miles

Burning oil!!!! I'm fed up, not sure what to do!!! Every 1000 miles I need to add oil!! The is a TOYOTA PROBLEM and they need to fix it!!!!!! I'm a single working mom, so I just don't have $4000 laying around to fix a car!!!!

- , Eagan, MN, USA

problem #107

Jun 132013

Camry SE V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,841 miles

I purchased my 2007 Camry used in 2012. This was my third Camry because I really liked Toyota's and never had problems with the first or second one. Toyota was always the car to buy because they were dependable and people I knew who owned them were always very happy with them. I bought my first one in 1994, brand new and I loved it. I bought a 1997 Camry, brand new and loved that one. My husband had a 1998 Avalon, which was a great car and now has a 2010 Tundra (knock on wood, no problems yet).

I bought my 2007 Camry in 2012 and was happy with it until the end of May 2013 when I was getting ready to go on a trip and found there to be no oil in the car, (oil light never went on). I put oil in it thinking that at the last oil change maybe the service department may have forgotten to put in it, but did call the service department when I got home and was told to bring it in for an oil consumption test. I had never heard of that before as my other Camrys didn't seem to have that problem. The car seemed OK until June 2014 when the same thing happened, (oil light blinked on and off and I was down 3 qts). Never was I told that this oil consumption was a much bigger problem then I had imagined.

I went on the internet and started doing some looking around and found there to be many, many people with the same problem. I e-mailed Toyota twice and was pretty much told that it is normal for a car to consume 1.1 qts of oil every 600 miles. Are they kidding or what???? It's was kind of a,"too bad, so sad", but there is nothing they can do because the oil it consumed was in their parameters. I believe they have set the oil consumption parameters to cover their butts. When I called Toyota, the girl I spoke with told me there was nothing they could do for me because the oil loss was within their guidelines, my warranty was expired and then had the NERVE to ask me if there was anything ELSE she could do to help me. WHAT?????

I find it very sad because Toyota does not seem to care in the least for all of us who are having this same problem. I know that my next car will definitely not be a Toyota. There are too many other car dealers out there who would be happy to have my business. At this point I would not recommend Toyota to anyone who is looking for a dependable car. I know several people who have told me they were thinking of getting one but since this has happened to me they have changed their minds. Remember, you tell ten people, and they tell ten people, and it goes on and on and on. Too bad Toyota, but you won't ever have me as a customer again.

- , Gilberts, IL, USA

problem #106

Dec 262013

Camry LE 1.4L 4 cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 112,187 miles

I had my Camry serviced following the recommended schedule closely at two area authorized Toyota dealerships. Never in its service history was oil consumption mentioned as a concern. In December 2013, the service tech told me that the oil pan seal and valve cover gasket needed to be replaced due to oil leakage. I had recently inspected the engine, and had seen no leakage. I watched the engine for any sign of leakage, and checked the oil twice before the next service interval. Both times the engine oil was very low, but there was no sign of any leak, or warning light. I took my car to an independent certified shop, and they verified that there was no leak at the oil pan or valve cover. The independent shop furnished me with the Toyota service bulletin that discussed my cars engine's excessive oil consumption and the suggested repair. It now appears that Toyota was aware of the engine defect as early as 2008, when my car was under warranty. Never did either dealership report or offer to fix the problem. I now have concerns about excessive engine wear leading to catastrophic failure.

- , Canby, OR, USA

problem #105

Jun 172014

Camry LX V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 73,579 miles

I went to Toyota for a regular oil change even before my maintenance schedule because "oil pressure light "came on. I always regularly serviced my car, and just to be told that engine in my car burn oil too much. I was also told to drive another 1000 miles and then come for inspections, and that they will need to open the engine and see what the problem is. I was presented with an estimate of $ 3,178.62. Also, to replace brakes $189.95 x 2 .

I was so disappointed with Toyota, because I loved my car for all these years and now this.

- , Richland, WA, USA

problem #104

Jun 092014

Camry LE 2az-Fe

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,592 miles

I bought a used 2007 Toyota Camry LE in Feb 2009 with only 2,000 miles on it. The car has performed well until now. Four months ago, I noticed a faint knocking noise from the engine. I thought the problem was some sort of "piston slap" I recently discovered that the car has been using about one quart of oil for each 1,000 miles driven. The service manager at Rosner Toyota in Fredericksburg,VA told me that the excessive oil consumption problem results from very small oil return holes on the piston rings. The oil remains in the combustion chamber and is burned. He said that the pistons and piston rings would have to be replaced at a cost approximately $2,000. Toyota did not issue a recall this vehicle; only a technical service bulletin, TSB 0094-11 on August 11, 2011. I have elected to replace the oil as needed, and trade the car in for something other than a Toyota in about 2 years.

Patrick H.

Stafford,VA

- , Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #103

Jul 222012

Camry LE 2.4L I4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,923 miles

I was on a summer trip and before making my way back home, I decided to check the fluid levels of my car, and noticed that the oil level was below the minimum mark on the dipstick, so I added a quart of oil before making the trip back, and booked an appointment at my Toyota dealership, with whom I deal exclusively for service. At this point, I was still under warranty, so they changed the oil and told me to come back at the regular service interval, which is 8000 kms. here in Canada. After I had driven the 8000 kms. and was ready for the next oil change, the oil level was again below the minimum mark on the dipstick. Concerned, I mentioned it to the service advisor, who opened up a file for my car, and ran a compression test on the engine. The compression test turned out fine, so they mentioned that I should put in 5W30 oil, and assured me that nothing wrong would happen to the engine, even though I expressed concern that this was going against Toyota's recommendations. They sent in the report to Toyota headquarters to see if they could do a warranty repair, and Toyota refused, mentioning that the "oil consumption issue falls within Toyota's tolerances". They added that they would be monitoring the oil levels closely every time I'd bring my car in for service anyway. A year or so went by after this point, with the car consistently consuming a litre (or quart) of oil between oil changes. I found this to be very unusual, since my previous 4 Toyotas never really consumed any significant amount of oil, but trusted my service advisor, and kept checking the oil levels fairly regularly (every 1000 kms. or so).

Fast forward to January 2014--I checked my oil after 4000 kms, and noticed that it consumed a full litre of oil! In other words, instead of consuming a litre of oil every 8000 kms., it now consumed a litre in 4000 kms.! I mentioned it to my service advisor, who made a note of it in the file, changed the oil, and told me to keep monitoring it. It's now July 2014, and I'm at the halfway mark to the 8000 km. oil change, and have consumed a full litre of oil, so I called my dealership to see what would happen, since I am now outside the warranty period. Their response? To put 10W30 oil in it (which I refuse to do) and then think about an engine rebuild, for which I would need to pay.

I don't understand how I would have to pay for a repair that should've been done 2 years ago, but which Toyota refuses to acknowledge. I have now lost almost all faith in Toyota, a company that I once thought equated with reliability and years of worry-free ownership. Boy was I wrong. I will not support a company that does not stand behind its products, and believes that it can solve its problems by denying their existence. Until they do what's right, I cannot, in good faith, continue to support this company, and as it stands, this will be my last Toyota. I am also spreading the word to everyone willing to listen so that nobody else falls into this trap.

- , Ottawa, Canada, canada

problem #102

Dec 122008

Camry LE 2.4li4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,450 miles

ADD OIL REGULARLY. KEEP ONE QUART OF OIL READY IN THE TRUNK. VERY DISAPPOINTED.

- , Huntington Beach, CA, USA

problem #101

Mar 062014

Camry LX 2az-Fe

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,567 miles

We bought our 2007 Camry in late 2006. Since the day we bought it we started having problems. We even bought a secondary warranty through Lockheed Credit Union. Our vehicle has had the struts replaced, our axles replaced and 2 recalls in less than 60,000 miles.

I recently discovered while driving my car that something was not sounding right. When we took it in for check up, the engine was almost bone dry of oil. My Mechanic suggested synthetic oil and we did an oil change and I kept an eye on it. We discovered that in about 1000 miles of driving my car is burning 1 qt of oil. I know a little bit about cars, and knew that this is not normal. I spoke to Keyes Toyota in Van Nuys and they confirmed that they had a T-SB (0094-11) regarding Engine Oil Consumption on my model year in August 11, 2011. The dealer told me that my warranty had expired and there is nothing they can do.

What really pissed me off, is that both my warranty's would have covered it if they had advised me back in 2011. I have since joined the Class action law suit and would like nothing more than to stick it to Toyota. We have purchased 3 new Toyota's since 2000. I am so disappointed with their customer service. I just want to get it fixed so I can sell it and get a Honda Accord.

- , North Hollywood, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?