If you find CarComplaints.com is helpful ... We rely completely on word of mouth. Talk about us on Facebook, Twitter, tell your mother-in-law. Help us help more people.

3.5

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,413 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Camry accessories - exterior problems

accessories - exterior problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Camry:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Camry Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #22

Oct 282007

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,599 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Passenger inside vehicle went to exit vehicle and inside door handle cracked and broke. Handle was replaced by dealer at cost of $78.

- Gary, IN, USA

problem #21

Sep 082006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have had the door handles on both front doors of my Camry break in the course of normal usage. The passenger door handle broke in the spring and the driver's side door handle this month. While the broken door handle on the passenger side was an inconvenience (my wife rode in the back until the handle was repaired), the broken driver side handle was a danger in that I had to lower the window and open the car door from the outside to leave the vehicle. Were I in an accident this exit routine could have been fatal. Earlier this year the dealer replaced the passenger door handle at no charge but disclaimed any responsibility for the driver side handle. The parts replaced were kept or disposed of by the dealer.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #20

Aug 152006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,500 miles
The front passenger side door lock would not lock or unlock with the remote or the key. It had to be manually unlocked from the inside. It was out of warranty but Toyota agreed to pay for the part and I paid the labor. Now the drivers side door lock has failed in the same manner, although I am able to open the door with the key. At times the door was unable to be opened from the inside. The handle would not move to open the door and I was concerned that the handle would break. It is out of warranty and Toyota will not repair. I feel that this is a safety defect since someone could get stuck in their car in the event of an emergency and that Toyota should repair this defect at no cost to the consumer.

- Lakewood, WA, USA

problem #19

Jun 012006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The door latch handles (plastic) on the inside of both front doors have broken off during normal use. This is a safety hazard; if I'm in an accident that disables the power windows (battery failure) I will not be able to use the exterior handles, as I do now, and I will be trapped in the car. Because the car warranty has expired the dealer said the failure is not covered and offered to replace them for $33 each, plus installation charges. The corporate "customer service" 800 number also denied coverage under the warranty and offered no other assistance. I see no purpose in replacing them with duplicates that will also break.

- Monroe, MI, USA

problem #18

Jul 262006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,715 miles
The driver's side door handle used to exit the car broke off, as I was routinely using it. At first I was anxious as I thought I would have to try to crawl over the transmission to get to the passenger side in order to get out. I then realized I could use the power windows to lower the window, and reach way around to open the door with outside handle. I think this could be a dangerous situation in an accident or if there were other problems that necessitated a quick exit.

- Somers, CT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #17

Jun 182005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Events leading up to the failure were normal use of car doors. Inside door handles of front passenger and back passenger doors cracked and one completely fell off. Door handles broke on separate occasions, but within a 1.5 year time span as passengers were trying to get out of car (car was unlocked). As a result riders cannot let themselves out of the car. Only the driver door is still in working condition. Driver must "valet style" let passengers out of the car. Inside door handles need to be replaced.

- Gardena, CA, USA

problem #16

Jul 142006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 29,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Front passenger interior door handle snapped at spindle. This car has 29,000 miles and passengers are rarely carried. Breakage rendered door inoperable from inside, causing major safety hazard in event of emergency. Called dealer and was told this is a cosmetic problem, therefore warranty will not cover repairs. Upon calling Toyota's extra care protection plan, I was also informed that this problem was not covered by the warranty. Dealer will replace at my expense.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #15

Jul 112006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I wrote on May 9, 2005 about my 2002 Toyota Camry. In June 2004 the driver's inside door handle cracked and the door could not be opened from the inside. In May 2006 the passenger inside door handle cracked. Toyota refused any support. In July 2006 the back seat passenger side door handle cracked. All three times it cracked when attempting to exit the vehicle. Exiting the vehicle becomes impossible. This is a dangerous situation. I have again contacted my dealers customer care and parts department as well as the general manager. They would not let me talk to the owner. The part manager says there have not been a lot sold at the dealership and there is nothing in the bulletins. But this is a recurring safety issue.

- Pelham, AL, USA

problem #14

Jul 112006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I wrote to you on May 9, 2006 about my 2002 Toyota Camry. In June 2004, the driver's inside door handle cracked and the door could not be opened from the inside. In May 2006 the passenger inside door handle cracked. Toyota did not handle this episode and refused to deal with me. In July 2006 the back seat passenger side door handle cracked. All three times it cracked when trying to exit the vehicle. Exiting the vehicle became impossible. In may I contacted my Toyota dealer and Toyota international. But did not get any satisfaction. This is a dangerous situation. The first two episodes happened when I opened the door. This last one occurred when an 81 year old man tried to open our door. I cringe to think if it were an emergency. We've owned a lot of cars and never had door handles crack. There is a problem with this product.

- Pelham, AL, USA

problem #13

Jul 012006

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 55,457 miles
Toyota Camry le 2002, passenger inside door plastic handles front and rear (right side) broke within one day apart, therefore exiting the vehicle was impossible in case of an emergency, since doors and windows are electric. In 2004, driver seat inside door handle also broke in the same manner, (cracked in the handle).

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #12

Jul 012005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The inside passenger side door handle in my 2002 Camry broke off. Very seldom do I have passengers ride with me, so it wasn't excessive wear and tear. I have a 1995 Toyota corolla and have replaced both inside front seat handles and a 1996 Toyota Camry and have replaced both inside front handles and the passenger side outside handle. I don't think this is normal wear and tear on a 2002 Toyota. I have not contacted the dealership yet.

- Taylorville, IL, USA

problem #11

Dec 222005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,577 miles
This car is barely 3 years old and has about 50,000 miles on it: Both front interior door handles broke within one week of each other. This made it impossible to exit the front seat without rolling down the window to use the exterior handle to open the doors. As they are power windows, had the power been out- the only way to exit the vehicle would have been from the back seat (which had child locks engaged so it would have been impossible at that time...).

- Santee, CA, USA

problem #10

Oct 152005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Front passenger side door handle broke. Piece is made of plastic and just broke, door cannot be opened from inside, passenger cannot exit the vehicle. Spoke with dealer, car is out of warranty, part can be repaired at owners expense.

- Wilmington, MA, USA

problem #9

Aug 032005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles
2002 Toyota Camry le-while on vacation on 8/3/2005, I attempted to open the front passenger door and the handle cracked. I could not exit the car from the interior cabin. Someone had to open the door from the outside, or I had to roll down the window and open the door myself. Upon returning home, my 6 year old son attempted to exit the vehicle through the rear passenger door. That door handle cracked in the exact same place. This poses a safety issue in the event of an emergency in that we are unable to exit the vehicle from the interior cabin of on the entire passenger side. I placed a call to the dealer where I purchased the car and advised there must be some defect on the door handles of my car. I was told they would charge me $41 to come in and diagnose the problem. I subsequently called the consumer headquarters for Toyota and advised of the problem and obtained a case number. I was told that there was no national recall and I should contact the customer relations manager at the dealer. This person told me that because the car "was so far out of warranty, " there was nothing they could do. I do have 95,000 miles on the car and it is 3 years and 5 months old. I again contacted the headquarters for Toyota and explained that the mileage on the car had nothing to do with the door handles. I was told that the mileage showed that it was "fully used." I noted that both of the handles broke off within 8 days of each other in the same place. I was told this was a sign that it was related to the way the consumer used the device. I was told that I would have to repair both handles at my own expense. I do feel this is a defect and I should not be responsible for the repair. Please provide me with any data you have on this.

- Youngsville, LA, USA

problem #8

Jul 172005

Camry 4-cyl

  • 37,000 miles
The inside front seat passenger door handle (the opener) broke (simply snapped in two) and became inoperable in my 2002 Camry. When I went to get a replacement, the parts office told me it happened every day, it was plastic and to be expected. This is a safety issue because in an emergency, the rider would have a difficult time exiting the vehicle. I have/had two other Camry- one a 1987 model and the other a 1996. Neither has had the problem and have had far more use of the door handle than this newer car.

- Champaign, IL, USA

problem #7

Jul 092005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 59,093 miles
Attempted to open the driver's side door and the interior door handle cracked and broke. Unable to open the door from the inside - this could pose a serious safety hazard in an emergency situation. Part was replaced at my expense - informed by the manufacturer that it is considered "normal wear and tear."

- Chessapeake, VA, USA

problem #6

Jul 032005

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,525 miles
Driver's side inside door handle broke and door cannot be openned from the inside. Handle is made of plastic. I have had to special order a replacement part from the dealer at my own expense.

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #5

Mar 182005

Camry

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
The front passenger side door will not unlock with or without the remote or the key. No one can enter into the passenger seat.

- Rancho Santa Margarita, CA, USA

problem #4

Jun 082004

Camry 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,874 miles
Inside driver side door release handle broke off at spindle.

- Sioux City, IA, USA

problem #3

May 052004

Camry

  • miles
Interior door handles have broken during normal use. Could trap someone in car during an emergency. Dealer would only replace at full cost. Car is a 2002 Toyota Camry.

- Pottstown, PA, USA

Read the next 2 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?